Captured Memories

I remember when she said to me, “you’re too young to work from home. It’s meant for the old people, go and search for a full-time job”. That was my Mum, about 9months ago. After I got tired of being the Journalist I had always dreamt of, I made up my mind to become my own boss. I was tired of receiving my monthly pay cheque when the month was way past, when I was meant to be receiving the next monthly pay.

I decided to take a break from the world of Journalism. It was a hard thing to do because I enjoyed the feeling, the experience, the tasks, looking forward to seeing my by-line and everything that came with being a Journalist. But at the same time I needed money to meet my needs, so I veered off.

The new feeling was priceless. From the comfort of my room, I got clients, did their jobs and got paid. I never planned to do that for a long time, but I began to really enjoy it. One good day, out of excitement, I said to my Mum, “I’ll be working from home now. Getting good jobs in this country is not easy”. Well, I got my reply and it was not in a very nice tone, so I began to shift my focus to Jobberman, that popular job site.

Finally, after throwing my CV into several mailboxes, I began a new life as a Copywriter in the Advertising world. Even though Journalism was what I enjoyed, I had always dreamt of getting a taste of the Advertising world.

I finally got to experience what the Advertising world feels like. The experience was worthwhile, with wonderful bosses and colleagues.

I once wrote about a few of my colleagues about a year ago, while I was a Journalist – Must Read: Something Different.

Here are captured memories from my 7months as a Copywriter in an Advertising Agency.

Ever slept over at work?

That's Mama, close to the TV
That’s Mama!!
IMG_20150227_070006
That’s Mr. Tayo!!

These are pictures from that fateful day when I slept over at work. I imagine lots of random things, but sleeping over at work has never crossed my imagination. It was so unexpected, I kept staring and thinking. We slept over at work, with the hope of completing our tasks, but it didn’t favour me. After spending close to 48hours at work, I turned out very little.

Just Eat

Camera 360

However the taste, we just ate. Sometimes, we were lucky to have really tasty lunch. Some other times, you had to force it down your throat because you don’t want to spend money buying expensive lunch from Ofada Hut or Chicken Republic.

This Pizza tho’

IMG_20141121_131646

Because it was Pizza, I just ate, but the taste was not Pizza-like. Our Brand Strategist had to carry out a research, so he ordered from various eateries, and this Pizza was one of the orders.

I love cakes!

IMG_20141209_124328

I didn’t like this particular one. This was the cake from my last birthday. It had fondant icing, my worst ever!!!

The struggle to be tall

IMG_20150128_164136

I really can’t remember how many inches this shoe was, but from the picture you can see it’s a very high one. Tiny little Gold ordered it from Jumia. Sometimes, when she walks in with her heels, I just silently pray she doesn’t trip and fall.

All work and no play…

IMG_20141204_135908

When it came to work, we worked really hard. When play time came, we seized the moment and played as much as we could. This is a picture of one very sarcastic guy, Afam, during one of those play times, and Praise behind, not wanting the fun to end. 🙂

Work Station

Camera 360

My work desk always looked good. It was close to the door, very normal for anyone to stop by. Whoever stopped by my desk ended up forgetting their phones or something else they came along with. In the mornings, it was a one stop point for those who wanted to sign-in.

Alberto

IMG_20141128_180849

He had all the questions I needed when I got stuck on a particular task. With more experience in Advertising, his desk was a one-stop point. When it comes to Internet Marketing, Albert has all the answers to your questions.

Praise

IMG_20141128_180707

I praise God I met Praise. We did very many things together. We completed our tasks faster when we worked together; I never went for lunch without her. Closing hour was the funniest, we went around in search for free ride home. There were enough free rides, but our target was finding someone that was leaving early.

December 8 Children

That's Anire in blue!!
That’s Anire with a camera!!

Ever had a birthday mate at your workplace?  I’ve always had close birthday mates, December 2nd, 5th, 6th and 16th…..finally, I found a December 8th in this agency. Finding a birthday mate was one of the best feelings I had while in the agency. Anire was my birthday mate, but he was completely different. We shared no common attitude, belief or behaviour. I thought according to astrology, people born within a particular period of time shared common traits. Well, Anire was a nice and annoying fat boy; he’s got a deep love food, nothing can come in between Anire and his food.

Mr. Peski

IMG_20141128_180706

Those times when I didn’t go in search of free rides during closing hour, I went with Mama’s ride. Mama had lots of people in her car when it was time to go home, and Yinka was part of that train. It was during this period I had opportunity to chat with him ‘cos he was not stuck with his desktop in the extreme corner he had chosen for himself.  Still wondering how and where he got the name, Mr. Peski.

KMG

IMG_20150220_080910

I once wrote an article about my experience with Gold – In Her Mind. Gold was sometimes annoying, but it didn’t really bother me ‘cos she was at the same time very nice. She could be harsh this minute, and extremely nice the next minute. In the mornings, there was no need to worry about breakfast when Gold was around. I once told her, “When Gold is around, everything just falls in place”. Guess what? She’s my mother’s birthday mate.

Seyi

IMG_20150409_104217

There was never a dull moment with Seyi. A single statement from him can transform a tensed atmosphere into a lively one. With Seyi, there was always cause to just reel in laughter, not minding the situation at that moment. I hope he goes into comedy soon.

Happy I got into an advert agency, worked with these people and gained the experience I needed. Looking forward to the next experience!!!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Awww! So sweet Christy! It was awesome working with you. Miss you loads!!

    1. khreestie says:

      🙂 you’ve forgotten how to spell my name…so soon 😦

  2. Kay-Momolosho Gold says:

    Christie Darling! u r always on my mind… and i appreciate your strong and positive tiny heart… u r beautiful within n outward. Keep Shinning!

Leave a comment